Wading Barefoot

Rediscovering my barefoot-self

Cheesecake

During the holidays I baked a couple of cheesecakes, something I hadn’t done since my kids were very young. Way back then, before I had clue how many things can go wrong with a cheesecake, I just followed the directions and voila! Perfect cheesecake. I even used the water-bath technique, which is a fairly tricky method. It may be true, on occasion, that what you don’t know – won’t hurt you. It was certainly true on this occasion because it came out wonderful. It was a chocolate cheesecake and I remember being amazed that I pulled it off. It was not only delicious, it was one of the most beautiful culinary concoctions I’d ever made, second only to that Norman Rockwell turkey at Thanksgiving.

So, with this one cheesecake under my cooking belt I got up the courage to try it again. Cream cheese was on sale for the ‘baking season’, so I stocked up; using two and a half pounds of cheese per cake gets expensive fast. There are also eggs, which aren’t cheep (pun) sugar and my secret ingredient, heavy cream. A ten-inch cake weighs about as much as a gallon of milk but making it fresh and with quality ingredients makes all the difference. So far I’ve made three more and even sold two of them. I hadn’t thought about how much to charge – I didn’t expect them to be good enough to sell: was I wrong. After taking into account my time, the cost of ingredients and baking time I settled on twenty dollars for a half and thirty-five dollars for a whole. So far – so good. Folks I’ve sold them to don’t even bat an eyelash at the price. I went to the local supermarket and priced a cheesecake that was half as thick with a list of ingredients that I couldn’t even pronounce. Cheesecake should be simple and seductive. There is nothing seductive about paying twice as much and getting half the amount and without the freshness and quality that I have in mine.

I haven’t attempted another chocolate one since that first cheesecake all those years ago, but that’s next. I also have a recipe for a white chocolate with raspberry swirl. Topped with fresh picked raspberries, I think this one would make a wonderful summertime desert. The process of making cheesecake is time-consuming but as it turns out, all I have is time. So, here I go – saving the world, one cheesecake at a time.

*For the record, I am lactose intolerant and cheesecake just kills me – so I indulge one slice and thank my lucky stars I can’t eat it, or I’d surly gain a ton of weight. Blessings in disguise 🙂cheesecake

January 18, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I can’t wait to try the chocolate cheesecake! The last time you made one, I was a freshman in High School! My friends would come over not visit me but for your cake! I’m so excited to try your new recipie!!!

    Comment by Victoria | January 18, 2013 | Reply

    • Victoria,
      Thank you for your enthusiastic support, flattery will get you everywhere!
      Cooking was my way of getting to know your friends. 🙂
      I can’t wait to get my hands on all that fresh fruit this summer out on Sauvie Island. I have plans to make decadent luscious combinations. Of course I’ll need someone to help with quality control – I bet you would volunteer for this job!

      Comment by wadingbarefoot | January 18, 2013 | Reply

  2. If I remember correctly you once made a cheesecake for us. It was a transcendental experience!! Like Father Frank’s barbecue sauce, its a recipe worth handing down within your family. Kudos for bringing it back to life!

    Comment by Duke | January 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Duke,
      Thank you for reminding me, until you mentioned it, I had forgotten all about Fr. Frank’s BBQ sauce! Oh my the pork ribs – Now that was a transcendental experience! The 1/2 cheesecake I sold to the postman went over very well. So well in fact that I have a repeat customer; he wants a whole one for the Super Bowl. 🙂 Like Victoria would say: let the happy dancing begin!

      Comment by wadingbarefoot | January 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

